Skip to content

Traveling the Distance

July 15, 2013

There comes a time where one must leave their home, leave everything they know or love. The thought of staying in one place for my whole life truly scared me, perhaps because my family and I were travelers by nature. I used to move at least every 4 years growing up. I lived in Damascus, Frederick, Rockville, and New Market Maryland, I’ve lived in Hedgesville and Martinsburg, West Virginia, even Williamstown, Vermont. I was used to moving, but I was also used to meeting people who had stayed in those towns, had grown up together. As the constant “New kid” I was always left out of memories like those. There were no memories of me with the other kids. But I never envied them, because most of them had no plans for college or for moving out. They all wanted to stay put, in their hometown. Some even had those businesses you hear about in movies, where the son inherits the father’s garage and the daughter inherits the mother’s shop.

I could never stay on one place. I get restless. I have never been happy in a school, and the thought of staying there without any hope for better schools made me suffer. Take me out of that school, it’s small town, everyone knows everyone. This one’s bigger, there has to be people there I can connect with.

There was never a permanent home for me to travel very far from. I always placed myself at a distance from everyone there. I was new, the only thing they wanted to talk to me about was what it was like in another state. I was the nomad. But I had other stuff to talk about; art, culture, theories. I wanted to meet people who liked the same shows and movies that I did. But there was never any of that.

I remember this girl who sat in front of me in math class. She loved my drawings and my stories of Vermont and the fact my mother was Scottish. We called ourselves friends, I would help her with drawing, she would let me copy her math homework because I was too lazy to do so. But when meeting outside of class, no sketch book, no homework, nothing to talk about, our friendship collapsed. We had no similar interests, and even our art interests were separated by what we both liked.

We weren’t very good friends, just two years later I forgot her name. I wonder of she still remembers mine, or if I’m just “that kid from Vermont.”

There was always a distance to be traveled for me, especially after high school. I find college surfing and scholarship searching to be a journey in itself. Thank you for following me on it. Let’s make memories.

From the Daily Post Prompt: Daily Prompt

From → Blog

Leave a Reply

