Skip to content

The First Meeting

July 13, 2013

There’s always a first time for meeting someone, and what you do for that meeting is crucial to what that person is going to think of you.

That’s what I look at this post as. This is my first meeting to you. So hello! Welcome, and enjoy yourself here, with me. I can’t help but think what you are thinking. Are you nervous for this meeting? Do you over think your actions here trying to impress me? Maybe not, seeing as I don’t physically see you and really have no way to know whether you have actually read this. But please tell me you’re there. Nothing feels worse than writing to an empty audience. That’s how I see this, how I see us. This site is a stage, and the readers are the crowd. There is no reason to stand on the stage without someone watching you, caring. I hope you care. That’s okay if you don’t. I find out hard to care about myself some days, too.

So, who are you? What do you do? What brought you here? Are you an introvert? Do you enjoy the strange and bizarre company of people like me who spill their lives out on the Internet? Introduce yourself to me. Every person who read this is special to me. Why? Because while the count on page views says “3 people”, that’s three real people. People who think, breathe, have jobs (or go to school), people with friends, things to do, and yet they take the time to acknowledge my existence, even if I’m just a block of text.

So here’s my introduction.

My name is Kayla. I think about things that people don’t think about, things we experience everyday and why they happen. I am an illustrator, though I lack an official employer. I have just finished high school, and with no immediate plans for college I am genuinely terrified everything I do well go to waste. That’s why I am here, to hopefully get to know more people like me through this new social media we find ourselves immersed in everyday.
Your turn. Tell me about yourself. If you’re too scared for commenting, you can talk to me privately. Just as there is a real person reading this, there is a real person writing it, someone curious.

Someone me.

From → Blog

4 Comments
  1. All the best!

  2. Hi Kayla, I can relate. Look forward to seeing more of your artwork ! I’m guessin’ I am an introvert, one who loves people, so that is why I,m here, meeting people, it’s been good medicine for the blues’ ect. What I’ve found is I’m not as different as I thought I was, it’s been a very good for my well being. Peace J.A.M.

    • Hi! Thank you for introducing yourself. I look forward to uploading more art, so I’m glad someone wants to see it. I hope you don’t regret your stay. X

Leave a Reply

